Maybe Hawking isn’t so smart after all

Labelled by some the “smartest man in the world,” Oxford Professor Stephen Hawking has made headlines with the conclusions of a new book that the universe did not need a Creator, just gravity.
That was a 180 degree turn from his previous position, that science led one to believe in the Divinity.
Perhaps the pursuit of knowledge, which is bringing scientists closer and closer to the creation of life, is giving Hawking and others more confidence than is warranted.
I’ve had the term genius used in connection with my name, and have contributed to an Oxford University Press encyclopedia.
What I’m wondering is how Hawking or anyone else can miss the constant presence of God.
That grace is confirmed for me, when I don’t know answers. I’ve learned not to lean on science, but to open myself to the awareness of a consciousness that does not come from me.
However, I do believe in the scientific method, so I make note of when I consciously turn to God and what happens.
Time and time again, I have a smile on my face because the result is something I never would have expected, couldn’t have anticipated and would not have thought of.
Hawking is a good metaphor because as a long-time paraplegic, he is dependent on outside help. All of us are, he’s just constantly confronted with it.
In the book of Job, a once favored man lost everything. The ensuing conversation he held with God is perhaps something that Hawking engages in. I’m sure he does. I’ve been struck by how often professed atheists call on the Deity in times of crisis (and during sex, what’s that about?).
To Job’s credit, he never gave up on his faith, although he did beg to be relieved of his misery.
Much of what we now call the science of probability began with Hawking’s question — the attempt to figure out whether God existed or not.
In recent years, “quants” have presumed that they could find algorithms which would predict everything from the weather to crop prices. As these number crunchers took over the financial markets, their impact led to the financial crisis of the past three years. And to a person, they all say, “We didn’t foresee it.”
I put my money on Psalms 146:
{3} Do not put your trust in princes,
in mortals, in whom there is no help.
[4] When their breath departs, they return to the earth;
on that very day their plans perish.

[5] Happy are those whose help is the God of Jacob,
whose hope is in the LORD their God,
[6] who made heaven and earth,
the sea, and all that is in them;
who keeps faith forever;
[7] who executes justice for the oppressed;
who gives food to the hungry.

The LORD sets the prisoners free;
[8] the LORD opens the eyes of the blind.
The LORD lifts up those who are bowed down;
the LORD loves the righteous.
[9] The LORD watches over the strangers;
he upholds the orphan and the widow,
but the way of the wicked he brings to ruin.

[10] The LORD will reign forever,
your God, O Zion, for all generations.
Praise the LORD!

