A day immersed in black business

I didn’t start Tuesday, Aug. 31 to see how many African-American businesses I could visit in one day. It just turned out that way.
My first stop was F.E. Jordan Associates’ San Francisco office to give co-founder Fred Jordan a report on our South Florida State of Black Business Forum.
Next, I had a lunch meeting with Barbara Scott of Scott Consulting Team, which I scheduled for Auntie April’s on Third Street. I enjoyed a short stack of pancakes and some scrambled eggs.
Retailer Douglas Jenkins, whose beauty supply store endures despite nearby competition, came out as I passed by, and I met the owner of the brand new Franks BBQ and Seafood, 4712 Third St. who has been open for three months.
Affordable housing developer San Francisco Housing Development Corp. was my next stop, to get more details of the impending opening of a community development financial institution to improve banking services on Third Street.
A meeting with CT Pharmaceuticals, prescription drug wholesaler, extended my stay on Third Street.
The actual scheduled event of the day had been a meeting with the new dean of the Southeast and Evans campuses of City College of San Francisco to extend our biotechnology career program. Even that multiplied. Soon after I talked with Dr. Henry Augustine, I’d entered a discussion with Linda Brooks-Burton, librarian of the Bayview/Waden Branch, about the campaign to build a new library, which had an event scheduled that evening. Also in the library was artist Malik Seneferu, whose work has developed a popular following along the West Coast.
There I met another new entrepreneur opening a martial arts and personal defense training.
A partner in business for over 20 years has been James C. Moore, most known for his Kwanzaa Gift Show in Oakland. He was just starting at the same time that I started eAccess Corp. Moore has taken a job as the Third Street Corridor Project Manager, where his job is to nurture new and existing businesses in the neighborhood.
While at the library event, I learned that the Bayview community’s concern about jobs and entrepreneurship had been taken seriously by the Branch Library Improvement Project and soon a black-owned construction firm will be announced as the general contractor for the new library. Another African-American artist was chosen for the public art for the library.
By my count, that was 12 black businesses I encountered without even trying hard.
When I hopped on the train to head home, who would I meet but two other entrepreneurs, former NFL player Doug Parrish, who launched a renewable energy company, and marketing consultant Greg Doxey.
So that was 14 in less than 12 hours.

