Don’t let the economy give you a stroke

There is definitely a physiological link between African-American health disparities and racial discrimination.  One of the easiest to discern is the high risk of strokes among blacks.  It is a disease which is worsened by stress and cause for us to take a more serious look at our personal health regimen.

The American Stroke Association has created a Power to End Stroke web page, geared specifically to African-American families.  it starts with a pledge, which reads:

As an African American, I Pledge…

I’m real. I’m strong. I’m proud.

But I’m at risk for stroke.

The American Stroke Association is ready to talk to me about what matters – to me. They can meet me where I am – to make positive lifestyle changes. They can make a positive impact – on me and my legacy.

So I pledge…

To not just survive – but thrive. I will learn how to live stronger and longer – for me, my family, and my community. I will join the movement to prevent and overcome stroke.

I will call 9-1-1 immediately if I or someone I know experience these signs of stroke:

  • Sudden numbness or weakness (especially on one side of the body)
  • Sudden confusion/trouble speaking or understanding
  • Sudden trouble seeing in one or both eyes
  • Sudden trouble walking/dizziness/loss of balance
  • Sudden severe headache with no known cause
Leave a Reply

